NPFL 2023: IMC approves venues as 5 clubs fail to meet stadium requirements


This comes days after the league organizers held the draws for the season.

Five clubs will seek alternative venues, based on IMC approval before the league kicks off on January 8.

The five clubs are; seven-time champions of the Nigeria Professional Football League, Rangers International of Enugu, Lobi Stars of Makurdi, Nasarawa United, Kwara United and Niger Tornadoes.

IMC did not approve the headquarters of these clubs because their stadiums did not meet the standard of infrastructure requirements.

The league will begin on January 8 with Twenty teams drawn into two different groups (A and B).

In Group A, Nasarawa United will host Enyimba in one of their matchday one fixtures at the New Jos Township Stadium, Jos, while Kwara United will use the Lekan Salami Stadium in Ibadan when hosting Gombe United.

Former champions Akwa United will host Nigerian National League champions Bendel Insurance at Godswill Apkabio Stadium in Uyo.

Plateau United will host Shooting Stars at Jos Township Stadium, while Remo Stars will be at home against El-Kanemi Warriors at Remo Stars Stadium in Ikenne.

In Group B, Rangers International will adopt Awka City Stadium, the same stadium they used last season, the former champions hosting Abia Warriors on matchday one.

Newly promoted team Bayelsa United will host Dakkada at Samson Siasia Stadium in Yenegoa, while Wikki Tourists will host Niger Tornadoes at Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Stadium in Bauchi.

Defending champions Rivers United will begin their journey to retain their title when they host the Lobi Stars at the Adokie Amiesimaka Stadium in Port Harcourt.

Newly promoted team Doma United will entertain the Sunshine Stars at the Pantami Stadium in Gombe and the Cup winners.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this