T20 World Cup: Underdogs from Zimbabwe take on South African challenge


After the trans-Tasman and the grand Asian derby, the T20 World Cup 2022 will witness the battle for South African bragging rights as Zimbabwe take on the Proteas in the Super 12. South Africa have not lost to their neighbors in their five T20I matches. , but the underdogs have tasted success against their most beloved rivals at the 50-year-old World Cup in 1999.

Where will the match be decided?

Sikandar Raza vs. South African Pacemakers

Zimbabwe’s leading T20I run scorer this year (652 runs in 18 innings) is second on the T20 World Cup charts so far with 136 runs in three outings with a strike rate of 172.15. Raza has found it difficult to tackle pace more than spin, going down 14 of 24 times since 2021. Facing Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje and Marco Jansen would be a challenge for the middle-order prop.

Blessing Muzarabani vs South African openings

With six wickets in three matches, Blessing Muzarabani led Zimbabwe’s bowling attack in Round 1. Three of his wickets came in the Powerplay. With a deep batting line-up to bowl at, Zimbabwe would need their most successful bowler to get early wickets. South African skipper Temba Bavuma, who has scored just 64 runs in seven T20Is this year, may be a likely target.

Miller vs. Spin

Since 2021, David Miller has pitched 663 T20I runs for South Africa with a strike rate of 163.36 (186.18 this year). Only twice has he fallen into a spinner during this period. During the recent Indian Premier League winning campaign with the Gujarat Titans, Miller had a higher strike rate against the spinners compared to the pacers. Raza, who has also been the main wicket-taker for Zimbabwe in T20I this year, will have his task cut back to prevent Miller from targeting his right arm in the middle overs.

Six Lust:
Zimbabwe, who have so far played all three of their matches at Hobart’s Bellerive Oval, have cleared the rope 11 times. South Africa, on the other hand, played their last three T20Is in India and hit a total of 32 sixes during the series.

Win Guide:
Zimbabwe: Zimbabwe have won 11 of the last 19 T20Is they have played, including two in Round 1. South Africa: Since last year’s T20 World Cup, South Africa have won 7 of their 13 T20Is.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this